Wednesday, May 30, 2012

This is what I do all day. Don't pretend not to care.

A lot of people have asked me what my typical day looks like.

Correction: A lot of people are probably wanting to ask me what my typical day looks like.

So this is for you:

6:00-7:00 am: My Morning Routine, Pre-puppy.


I jump out of bed the moment my alarm goes off. I have an actual alarm clock and an internal alarm clock. On the weekends, I curse my internal clock because I am always up at the crack of dawn!

I immediately turn on my Keurig coffee pot and eat breakfast. I take the time to make oatmeal or an omelet. After breakfast, I take about 15 minutes to do a lesson from my daily devotional or  read a chapter from "The Power of a Praying Woman,"  and then I'll say a quick prayer to start my day. I savor these few moments of silence in the morning. I then get ready for work and head out the door.

Yes, I am a morning person! Can't you tell?

{Coffee in the morning. One of life's greatest pleasures}



7:15-8:00 am: Morning Commute

8 am-1 pm: Work

Thankfully, I love my job! As an administrator in the finance department, I act as a receptionist, I manage an executive's calendar, and I do a lot of random stuff. Some weeks are extremely demanding and there's a lot of pressure. Some weeks are slow and laid back. I tend to be more fulfilled during the stressful weeks; either way, I feel so blessed that I'm able to get up and go to work each day.

1-2 pm: Lunch

I almost always go to my parents' house for lunch because they live very close to my job. Instead of eating lunch during this time, I typically take Colby on a 30 minute walk. For lunch, I tend to be a grazer. I'll eat a handful of almonds, a banana, and a yogurt, but I rarely sit down to a full meal.

{On a walk with Colby. One of life's greatest pleasures}




2-5 pm: More work!

5-5:45 pm: Afternoon Commute

5:45 pm: Wine and Cheese

When I walk through the front door, I waste no time making a plate of cheese and crackers. I also like to have a glass of wine. This has become my after work ritual.

I then take about 15 minutes to tidy up the house once I get home. Weird Fact: This is when I usually make the bed!

{Cheap wine is one of life's greatest pleasures.}




6-7 pm: Walk

I go on a walk around the lake beside our house. Sometimes I go to the gym with Brian. (Sometimes= hardly ever).

I prefer to be outside, especially during the warmer months. So I go to the lake and I take pictures of ducks. I'm usually the only duck photographer out on the trail. Hey, I've never claimed to be normal!

{Here is a picture of...ducks? geese? a hybrid of some sort?}


7 -9 pm: Dinner, Leisure, etc


Brian and I tend to eat dinner relatively late, usually between 8 and 9. I always like to try new recipes, but I often just fix one of our usual staples. It's also during this time that I'll sit down and read a magazine or book, work on my blog, or start making cakes. On an average week, I spend about two evenings decorating cakes for The Sweet Tooth Bakery. I run errands, go to the grocery store, or do a load of laundry at some point.

Tuesday night is literally the only weekday night that is "normal." On Mondays, Wednesdays, and Thursdays we both have other stuff going on. Brian and I both stay busy with our own personal hobbies. He plays in a pool league and regularly meets up with friends to shoot pool or go to the gun range. I bake cakes, participate in a monthly book club, and have recently started volunteering at the animal shelter.

Needless to say, I stay busy, but I wouldn't have it any other way! I'm happiest when I'm being active. As you may have noticed, the television is rarely ever turned on and we also don't get cable. TV is not a priority in our lives.

Two of my personal mantras: "There are always enough hours in the day" and "You are where you want to be."

Alright, enough about me and my day.

Hope everyone has a wonderful Wednesday!

No comments:

Post a Comment